ASO Update http://aso.icann.org

APNIC19 – February 2005

Kenny Huang, Takashi Arano, Hyun Joon Kwon

ASO Address Council

- MoU signed between the NRO and ICANN
- IPv4 Global Policy submitted through RIRs to Address Council to ICANN
 - Awaiting action by the ICANN Board
- Transition to new Address Council
 - And new Secretariat

ASO Address Council

- Address Council AC
 - Does not represent the RIRs directly
 - Three representatives from each RIR Region
 - Not necessarily RIR members
 - ALL interested parties may participate

Effect of NRO on AC

- Impact of NRO on the AC
 - The Address Council is now
 - The NRO Number Council
 - Numbers Council is similar to the AC
 - RIR Board of Director elects one
 - Communities elect two
 - Transition is currently underway

Current Address Council

APNIC

- Takashi Arano co-chair
- Kenny S. Huan
- Hyun-joon Kwon

RIPE

- Hans-Petter Holen chair
- Sabine Jaume
- Wilfried Woeber

LACNIC

- Hartmut Glaser co-chair
- Sebastian Bellagamba
- Julian Dunayevich

ARIN

- Louie Lee
- Lee Howard
- Stanford George

ASO AC Administration

- Secretariat for 2005 is supported by LACNIC
 - Rotated between the RIRs

- Chair of the Address Council
 - Hans-Petter Holen for 2005
 - Co-chars
 - Hartmut Glaser
 - Takashi Arano

AC Elected Directors

Board Member Region

Term Ends

Mouhamet Diop

Africa

June 2006

Raimundo Beca

Latin America and Caribbean

May 2007

ASO Address Council

ASO General Assembly

- Happens once a year
- See www.aso.icann.org for details

ASO Address Council

 Continued to observe progress in the establishment of AFRINIC new RIR

> AFRINIC representatives have actively participated in all current ASO activities and in the ICANN reform process

Other Activities

- Established standard BoD selection process
- Roadmap for work in 2005.
- Now working on transition activities
 - To NRO Number Council

Thank You!